Tioga Central Equipment
Engine 506 is an Alco RS-3U which served on the Delaware and Hudson Railroad. At the time of the nation's Bicentennial, it was completely rebuilt by Morrison Knudson as a modern, 2,000 horsepower freight locomotive, and to celebrate our nation's birthday, was painted in its unique red, white, and blue livery. Engine 506 is Tioga Central Railroads' prime mover.
Engine 62 is an Alco 1,000 horsepower RS-1 road switcher built in 1950. It served on the Washington Terminal Railroad in our nation's capitol city. Engine 62, along with Engine 506, operates most of Tioga Central Railroads' excursions.
Engine 14, a 1,000 horsepower Alco S-2 switcher was built in Schenectady, New York in 1947. Engine 14 came from the Buffalo Creek Railroad, a terminal line in Buffalo, New York. Engine 14 serves as the railroad's third engine and is currently in active service.
Engine 240 is an RS-1, originally built for the New York, Susquehanna, and Western Railroad. Engine 47 is an Alco 1,000 horsepower RS-1 road switcher built in 1945. It served on the Washington Terminal Railroad in our nation's capitol city. Both engines are currently out of service.
Electrical power is provided by our head-end power Car 410, a 75' baggage car acquired from the Ontario Northland Railway. Car 410 is Tioga Central's most recent acquisition.
Our dining car, the 370 Crooked Creek, is an ex-CNR car. It seats 48 and includes a fully functioning stainless steel kitchen used during our dinner trains.
Our 64-seat table car, the 365 Norris Brook, is a 1939 Budd Stainless Steel car acquired in 2001 from the now-defunct Broadway Dinner Train. This car is handicapped accessible and provides large windows for scenic views. The 365 Norris Brook is one of two stainless steel railcars in the Tioga Central consist.
The next car in the consist is an ex-New York Central Deluxe Coach 2930. This car is owned by the Tioga Transportation Society, the volunteer support group of Tioga Central. This car is a 1947 Budd Stainless Steel Coach. Restoration of this car was completed in early 2004.
The 500 Canyon Club is an ex-Canadian National car, originally built as an open-platform observation car in 1920, and is the oldest car in the Tioga Central consist. In this car you will find our "Canyon Club Snackbar," which offers a variety of snacks, beverages, and hot specials on every excursion. This car is unique for it's seating style and lounge in the rear of the car.
Our popular open observation car, the 300 Ives Run, is an ex-Pennsylvania Railroad P-70 coach, and was recently remodeled. Bench seating allows for large numbers of passengers in the car at one time. Although this is an open air car, there is no smoking. This is true for all of our cars of the Tioga Central Railroad.
Coach 285, an ex-Canadian National car, originally built in 1942, is a 64-seat coach, and operates on all of Tioga Central's excursions. In 2008, this car was named "Ned Marrow" to honor a dedicated Tioga Transportation Society volunteer.
Although it no longer rolls up and down the line, Tioga Central's oldest piece of rolling stock, Car 54, now serves usefully as a gift shop and crew office at Wellsboro Junction. It was originally a double-ended, open-platform paymaster car, built for the Grand Trunk Western in 1894.